May 22, 2017

Board approves funding requests for Core Program, Outreach in another successful Spring meeting

Tags: Core Program Graduate Student Research Award

The North Pacific Research Board (NPRB) has approved funding to support 28 research proposals for the Core Program, a total of $4.6 million with additional support from the Oil Spill Recovery Institute (OSRI). The original Request for Proposals (RFP) was released September 28, 2016, with a funding target of $4.55 million. One hundred and forty proposals were submitted this year, making it one of the highest submission years to date for the Core Program.

NPRB will submit this funding request to the Secretary of Commerce for approval to ensure that the project recommendations are consistent with the terms of the NPRB grant award, federal law, and enabling legislation.

The Board also approved funding for 5 outreach proposals, totaling $60,000. This was an additional option offered for the first time to applicants submitting Core Program proposals. Forty-four outreach proposals were submitted, well exceeding NPRB expectations in the first year of offering this additional funding request.

Additionally, six students, three master’s and three doctoral, received awards through the Graduate Student Research Award Program.

Several new Board members were appointed prior to the 2017 Spring Board meeting by the Secretary of Commerce from nominations provided by the Governors of Alaska, Washington, and Oregon. Mr. Forrest Bowers replaces Mr. Charles Swanton for the seat held by the Alaska Department of Fish & Game. Mr. Bill Britt succeeds Ms. Caryn Rea to represent oil and gas interests for the State of Alaska. Ms. Becca Robbins Gisclair replaces long-time Board member Paul MacGregor for the State of Washington. Lastly, Ms. Heather Mann fills a State of Oregon position that has been vacant since 2015.

In a move to expand the breadth and size of the Science Panel membership, the Board increased the number of total panel member from seventeen to eighteen. New members appointed this year include: Dr. Bradley Harris, Alaska Pacific University; Dr. Matt Reimer, University of Alaska Anchorage; Dr. Leandra Sousa, North Slope Borough/University of Alaska Fairbanks; and Dr. Thomas Weingartner, University of Alaska Fairbanks, College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences. The Board also added seven new members to the Advisory Panel that include: Dr. Reid Brewer, Gulf of Alaska; Melissa Good, Bering Sea; Mitch Kilbourn, Gulf of Alaska; Brian Lynch, Gulf of Alaska; Mike Pederson, Arctic Ocean; Matt Robinson, Bering Sea; and Verner Wilson, Bering Sea.

For more details, visit: