June 11, 2014

Congratulations to 2014 Graduate Student Research Award Winners

Tags: Graduate Student Research Award

The North Pacific Research Board (NPRB) has received approval from the U.S. Secretary of Commerce for its 2014 funding package. The package inlcudes $150,000 to be distributed among six graduate students to address scientific, technological and socioeconomic issues relating to research themes identified in NPRB’s science plan.

Since 2008, NPRB has been awarding funds to encourage students to pursue scientific and scholarly research that addresses management issues in northern seas. Over the seven years of the program, NPRB has awarded a total of over $900,000 to 41 graduate students from 14 universities in the United States, Canada and Norway. Read more about the Graduate Student Research Award Program and see a list of past winners. This year NPRB received 57 applications; the six 2014 awardees are:

  • Anthony Pagano, University of California Santa Cruz, doctoral student
  • Alexandra Ravelo, University of Alaska Fairbanks, doctoral student
  • Tanja Schollmeier, University of Alaska Fairbanks, master’s student
  • Courtney Shuert, University of Alaska Fairbanks, master’s student
  • Emma Elliott Smith, University of New Mexico, master’s student
  • Katharine Studholme, Dalhousie University, doctoral student